Jury

Bruno BOUCHÉ

Bruno Bouché enrolled in the School of Dance at the Opéra National de Paris in 1989 and joined the Corps de Ballet in October 1996. He founded Incidence Chorégraphique in 1999, a group of performers with whom he created Ce qui reste, Lila, Vivre Avec, and Ce sont des choses qui arrivent amongst others. In 2014, he collaborated on the film Les Bosquets by performing artist JR. In 2015, he created Ce(ux) qui rend(ent) les gens heureux for the Leipziger Ballett and fine-tuned the choreography for Monsieur de Pourceaugnac, directed by Clément Hervieux Léger with William Christie and the Foundation Les Arts Florissants (Caen Theatre and Les Bouffes du Nord).

In addition, he created SOI-Ătman, Music for Pieces of Wood, Yourodivy, Amores 4e mvt., Dance Music 3-2-1, Ça manque d’amour, C4 and Cet obscur palais du désir for the Opéra National de Paris.

In July 2016, he was appointed as Artistic Director of the Opéra National du Rhin Ballet - Centre Chorégraphique National in Mulhouse and took up his duties as Director in September 2017.

Ingrid LORENTZEN

After many years as principal dancer in the company Den Norske Opera & Ballett, Ingrid Lorentzen was appointed ballet director in 2012. Under her leadership the company has developed several signature works such as A Swan Lake, the Ibsen classics Ghosts and Hedda Gabler. She has invited internationally renowned choreographers including Alexander Ekman and Liam Scarlett, appointed Jo Strømgren and Alan Lucien Øyen to Artists in Residence, and successfully commissioned productions by theatre director Marit Moum Aune, who approaches the ballet scene in an innovative and exciting way.

The Norwegian National Ballet is recognized as one of the key companies to perform works by Jiří Kylián, and combined with their classical and contemporary productions they perform one of the world's most diverse repertoires. They are also gaining great acclaim internationally by touring with their signature productions. This success has also spread to Lorentzen's newly started youth company's/NNB2 (2016) works and tours.

Under Lorentzen's leadership their home audience has increased to the largest in the company's history.

Jean-Christophe MAILLOT

Jean-Christophe Maillot studied at the Conservatoire National de Région (National Regional Conservatory) in Tours, then joined Rosella Hightower’s École Internationale de Danse (International Dance School) in Cannes before winning the Prix de Lausanne in 1977. He then joined the Hamburg Ballet where he danced in main soloist roles for five years. An accident abruptly ended his career as a dancer.

In 1983, he was appointed as Choreographer and Director of the Ballet du Grand Théâtre in Tours which later became the Centre Chorégraphique National. He founded Le Chorégraphique dance festival in 1985. In 1987, he choreographed Le Mandarin Merveilleux for the Monte-Carlo Ballet as guest choreographer.

First working as the Monte-Carlo Ballet’s Artistic Consultant for the 1992-1993 season, he was appointed as Choreographer-Director by HRH Princess of Hanover in September 1993. His arrival took this company of 45 dancers to new heights which has been renowned over the past 20 years for its level of maturity and excellence. He created 40 ballets with the company, including Roméo et Juliette (1996), Cendrillon (1999), La Belle (2001), Le Songe (2005), LAC (2011) among others, which have made the Monte-Carlo Ballet world famous. Several of these works are also included in the repertoire of major international ballet companies. In 2014, he created La Mégère adapted for the Bolshoi Ballet. Being susceptible also to the work of other performing artists, Jean-Christophe Maillot invites choreographers with different styles to create for his Company and in 2000 jointly founded the Monaco Dance Forum with Stéphane Martin.

In 2007, he directed his first opera, Faust, for the Hessian State Theatre of Wiesbaden (Staatstheater Wiesbaden) and Norma in 2009 for the Monte-Carlo Opera House. In 2007, he directed his first choreographic film Cendrillon followed by Le Songe in 2008. In 2009, he prepared the content and organised the Centennial for the Ballets Russes in Monaco.

In 2011, dance in Monaco underwent a major historical metamorphosis. Presided over by HRH Princess of Hanover, the Monte-Carlo Ballet now encompasses the Monte-Carlo Ballet, the Monaco Dance Forum and the Princess Grace Academy in the same organisation. Jean-Christophe Maillot was appointed as its Director.

Jean-Christophe Maillot was granted the honorary title of Knight of the Legion of Honour (Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur) by French President Jacques Chirac in 2002 and Commander of the Order of Arts and Literature (Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres) by French Minister of Culture Fleur Pellerin in 2015.

Thierry MALANDAIN

Thierry Malandain began his dance career with the Ballet du Rhin. He then joined the Ballet Théâtre Français in Nancy where he stayed until 1986. This is where he gained his first experience as a choreographer. In 1986, he left the Nancy Ballet Théâtre Français and founded the Temps Présent company in Elancourt. Ballets such as L’Homme aux semelles de vent, Edgar Allan Poe and especially Folksongs brought him recognition as a young up-and-coming talent. In 1991, he choreographed Pulcinella on stage at the Maison de la Culture in Saint-Etienne. The director was in the midst of guiding the institution towards its new role of Opera-Theatre. He proposed hosting the Temps Présent company in residence in Saint-Etienne. During this time the choreographer created several of his most well-known ballets such as La Fleur de pierre, L’Après-midi d’un faune, Casse Noisette, etc.
In 1997, the French Ministry of Culture and Communication and the city of Biarritz gave him the opportunity to start the 19th French CCN (National Choreographic Centre). The Centre Chorégraphique National and Ballet Biarritz were created in September 1998.
In 2003, Ballet Biarritz took a major step. For the very first time, the troupe officially performed in Paris (Théâtre National de Chaillot), as well as Moscow. It was at this point that the CCN became one of the centre’s ensuring the greatest number of annual performances with a substantial international presence. Many of Thierry Malandain’s 80 ballet works are part of the repertoire of other major companies, from Caracas to Hong Kong, as well as West Palm Beach, Riga, Tunis, Karlsruhe and even at the Sadamatsu Hamada Ballet. In France, at the Opéra National du Rhin Ballet, Ballet National de Marseille, Opéra National de Bordeaux Ballet, etc.

In 2004, he became the Artistic Director for Le Temps d'Aimer dance festival organised by the city of Biarritz. He gave up this position in 2005 before permanently returning to it in 2008.

In August 2009, Thierry Malandain was promoted to the rank of Officer of Arts and Literature (Ordre des Arts et des Lettres). The company was then renamed “Malandain Ballet Biarritz” beginning a new era for the choreographer.

In 2013, he created the Ballet Cendrillon (Cinderella) which was unanimously acclaimed by both the press and audiences. He was awarded the "Best Choreographer Prize" for this creation at the Taglioni European Ballet Awards by the Malakhov Foundation in Berlin.

The Malandain Ballet Biarritz company was awarded the "Best Company Prize" by the Association Professionnelle de la Critique de Théâtre, de Musique et de Danse (Theatre, Music and Dance Critique Association) in 2017 after Parisian performances of his ballet Noé (Noah) at the Chaillot-Théâtre National de la Danse.

Éric QUILLERÉ

After graduating from the School of Dance at the Opéra National de Paris, Eric Quilleré was hired in 1984 by the Paris Opera’s Corps de Ballet. After being discovered by Maurice Béjart, he was invited to Vienna to dance with the Ballet of the 20th Century in Wien Wien. Promoted to Principal Dancer in 1991 by Patrick Dupont who was Dance Director at the Opéra National de Paris, Eric Quilleré danced the classical repertoire and choreographed the pas de deux for the Grape Harvesters in Giselle by P. Bart and E. Polikov.

Eric Quilleré also danced in neoclassical ballets such as Agon, Apollon, Capriccio and Le Fils prodigue by G. Balanchine. He danced as well in contemporary ballets including Point In Space and Un Jour ou deux with Merce Cunningham, Sinfonietta with Jirí Kylián. He danced in Le Sacre du printemps by Pina Bausch during its creation at the Opéra National de Paris. Eric Quilleré was then hired as Primo Ballerino at the Nancy Ballet.

In 1995, Eric Quilleré divided his time between the Opéra National de Paris and the Miami City Ballet where he danced most of Balanchine’s ballets. While continuing his career as a dancer, he began putting together ballets for the Miami City Ballet such as Swan Lake, Coppélia, Giselle and Paquita. In 2001, M.C. Pietragalla invited him to choreograph his version of Giselle at the Ballet National de Marseille. In 2002, he was appointed as Artistic Consultant for the MCB School in Miami where he taught and organised summer workshops with major directors of ballet schools. In 2003, Charles Jude asked him to join the Ballet National de Bordeaux as Ballet Master. He collaborated on Charles Jude’s creations. Eric Quilleré teaches on a regular basis and has been invited by the Israel Ballet (Tel Aviv, Israel) and the Ballet de Florence (Florence, Italy) among others.

Following Marc Minkowski’s proposal, he was appointed Director of Dance of the Opéra National de Bordeaux on 15th December 2017.

Jury

Bruno BOUCHÉ

Bruno Bouché entre à l’École de Danse de l’Opéra national de Paris en 1989 et rejoint le Corps de ballet en octobre 1996. Il fonde "Incidence Chorégraphique" en 1999, collectif d’artistes avec lequel il créé, entre autres : "Ce qui reste", "Lila", "Vivre Avec", "Ce sont des choses qui arrivent". En 2014, il collabore au film "Les Bosquets" de l’artiste JR. En 2015, il créé pour le Leipziger Ballett "Ce(ux) qui rend(ent) les gens heureux" et règle la chorégraphie de la pièce "Monsieur de Pourceaugnac", mise en scène par Clément Hervieux Léger avec William Christie et les Arts Florissants (Théâtre de Caen et Les Bouffes du Nord).

Pour l’Opéra national de Paris, il signe "SOI-Ătman" et "Music for Pieces of Wood", "Yourodivy", "Amores 4e mvt." et "Dance Music 3-2-1.", "Ça manque d’amour", "C4" et "Cet obscur palais du désir".

En juillet 2016, il est nommé Directeur artistique du Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin - Centre Chorégraphique National de Mulhouse et prend ses fonctions en septembre 2017.

Aurélie DUPONT

Aurélie Dupont entre à l’École de Danse de l’Opéra national de Paris en 1983. Elle est engagée dans le Corps de Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris en 1989. Après son entrée dans la Compagnie, Aurélie Dupont participe à toutes les grandes productions du répertoire classique et contemporain. Elle est également distribuée dans des rôles de solistes dans "Giselle", "La Sylphide", "Les Quatre Tempéraments", "Casse-Noisette", "Le Sacre du Printemps".

Promue « Première Danseuse » en 1996, elle danse les principaux rôles de "Soir de fête", "Raymonda", "Don Quichotte" et "La Bayadère". A l’issue de la représentation de Don Quichotte, le 31 décembre 1998, elle est nommée « Étoile ».

Aurélie Dupont, Danseuse Étoile, a fait ses adieux officiels à la scène de l’Opéra en 2015, à l’issue de la représentation de "L’Histoire de Manon" de Kenneth MacMillan. Elle a reçu le prix de la meilleure interprète féminine aux « Benois de la Danse 2001 » pour son interprétation du rôle de Nikiya dans "La Bayadère" et pour celui de Titania dans "Le Songe d’une nuit d’été".

Nommée Directrice de la danse de l’Opéra national de Paris en 2016, Aurélie Dupont a officiellement pris ses fonctions le 1er août 2016.

Ingrid LORENTZEN

Après de nombreuses années en tant que danseuse du Den Norske Opera & Ballett, Ingrid Lorentzen est nommée directrice en 2012. Sous sa direction, la compagnie a créé de prestigieux ballets comme "Le Lac des Cygnes", "Ghosts" et "Hedda Gabler". Ingrid Lorentzen a invité des chorégraphes internationaux de renom comme Alexander Ekman et Liam Scarlett, accueilli Jo Strømgren et Alan Lucien Øyen en résidence. D'autre part, le directeur du théâtre Marit Moum Aune lui a commandé de nombreuses productions qui approchent la danse classique et les ballets de façon innovante.

Le Norwegian National Ballet est reconnu comme l'une des compagnies clés dans la reprise des œuvres de Jiří Kylián. Elle est également connu pour être l'un des Ballets ayant le répertoire le plus important mêlant le style classique et contemporain. Ses productions ont été acclamées internationalement. Ce succès s'est également étendu aux œuvres et aux tournées de Lorentzen nouvellement créées par la youth company's/NNB2 (2016).

Sous la direction de Ingrid Lorentzen, l'audience de la compagnie est la plus importante de son histoire.

Jean-Christophe MAILLOT

Jean-Christophe Maillot étudie au Conservatoire National de Région de Tours, puis rejoint l’École Internationale de Danse de Rosella Hightower à Cannes jusqu’à l’obtention du Prix de Lausanne en 1977. Il rejoint alors le Ballet de Hambourg où il interprète pendant cinq ans des rôles solistes de premier plan. Un accident met fin brutalement à sa carrière de danseur.
En 1983, il est nommé chorégraphe et directeur du Ballet du Grand Théâtre de Tours qui deviendra par la suite Centre Chorégraphique National. Il fonde en 1985 le Festival de danse « Le Chorégraphique ». En 1987, il crée pour les Ballets de Monte-Carlo en tant que chorégraphe invité, "Le Mandarin Merveilleux".
D’abord Conseiller artistique des Ballets de Monte-Carlo pour la saison 1992-1993, il est nommé Chorégraphe-Directeur par S.A.R. la Princesse de Hanovre en septembre 1993. Son arrivée fait prendre un nouvel essor à cette compagnie de 45 danseurs dont on reconnaît depuis 20 ans le niveau de maturité et d’excellence. Il y crée près de 40 ballets dont certains, tels que "Roméo et Juliette" (1996), "Cendrillon" (1999), "La Belle" (2001), "Le Songe" (2005) , "LAC" (2011) entre autres, font la renommée des Ballets de Monte-Carlo dans le monde entier. Plusieurs de ces œuvres sont aussi inscrites au répertoire de grandes compagnies internationales. En 2014, il crée "La Mégère" apprivoisée pour le Ballet du Théâtre Bolchoï.
Également sensible au travail des autres artistes, Jean-Christophe Maillot invite des chorégraphes au style différent à créer pour sa Compagnie et fonde, en 2000, avec Stéphane Martin, le Monaco Dance Forum.
En 2007, il réalise sa première mise en scène d’opéra, "Faust", pour le Théâtre National de la Hesse et en 2009, "Norma" pour l’Opéra de Monte-Carlo. En 2007, il réalise son premier film chorégraphique, "Cendrillon" puis "Le Songe" en 2008. En 2009, il élabore le contenu et coordonne le Centenaire des Ballets Russes à Monaco.
En 2011, la danse à Monaco vit une évolution majeure dans son histoire. Sous la Présidence de S.A.R. La Princesse de Hanovre, les Ballets de Monte-Carlo réunissent désormais au sein d’une même structure la compagnie des Ballets de Monte-Carlo, le Monaco Dance Forum et l’Académie Princesse Grace. Jean-Christophe Maillot est nommé à la tête de ce dispositif.

Jean-Christophe Maillot a été nommé Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur par Le Président de la République Jacques Chirac en 2002 et Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres par La Ministre de la Culture Fleur Pellerin en 2015.

Thierry MALANDAIN

Thierry Malandain a commencé sa carrière de danseur au Ballet du Rhin. Il rejoint ensuite le Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy où il restera jusqu’en jusqu’en 1986. C’est à cette époque qu’il fait ses premières expériences de chorégraphe. En 1986, Thierry Malandain quitte le Ballet Théâtre Français de Nancy et fonde la compagnie Temps Présent qui s’installe à Elancourt. Des pièces comme "L’Homme aux semelles de vent" ou "Edgar Allan Poe" et surtout "Folksongs" contribuent à le faire reconnaître comme un jeune talent prometteur. En 1991, Thierry Malandain monte "Pulcinella" sur la scène de la Maison de la Culture de Saint-Etienne. Le directeur est en train de guider l’institution vers son nouveau rôle d’Opéra-Théâtre. Il propose à la compagnie Temps Présent de l’accueillir en résidence à Saint-Etienne. C’est à cette époque que le chorégraphe créé plusieurs de ses ballets les plus repérés : "La Fleur de pierre", "l’Après-midi d’un faune", "Casse Noisette", etc.

En 1997, le Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication et la ville de Biarritz lui offrent de fonder le 19ème CCN français. Dès septembre 1998, le Centre Chorégraphique National - Ballet Biarritz voit le jour.

En 2003, Ballet Biarritz franchit une étape importante. Pour la première fois, la troupe se produit officiellement à Paris (Théâtre national de Chaillot), tandis qu’à Moscou. C’est à partir de ce moment que le CCN devient l’un de ceux assurant le plus grand nombre de représentations annuelles accompagné d’une forte présence internationale. Nombreuses des 80 œuvres de Thierry Malandain sont au répertoire d’autres grandes compagnies, de Caracas à Hong Kong, en passant par West Palm Beach, Riga, Tunis, Karlsruhe ou encore au Sadamatsu Hamada Ballet. En France, au Ballet de l'Opéra national du Rhin, au Ballet national de Marseille, au Ballet de l’Opéra national de Bordeaux, etc.

En 2004, il devient le directeur artistique du festival de danse Le Temps d'Aimer organisé par la ville de Biarritz. Il abandonne ce poste en 2005 avant de le reprendre définitivement en 2008.

En août 2009, Thierry Malandain est élevé au grade d’officier des Arts et Lettres. C’est avec une nouvelle appellation « Malandain Ballet Biarritz » que débute pour le chorégraphe une nouvelle ère.

En 2013, il crée le Ballet "Cendrillon" qui fait l'unanimité de la presse et du public. Il reçoit pour cette création le "Prix du meilleur chorégraphe" aux Taglioni European Ballet Awards décerné par la fondation Malakhov à Berlin.

En 2017, après les représentations parisiennes de sa création Noé à Chaillot-Théâtre national de la Danse, le Malandain Ballet Biarritz reçoit le "Prix de la meilleure compagnie" décerné par l’Association professionnelle de la critique de théâtre, de musique et de danse.

Éric QUILLERÉ

À l'issue de ses études à l'Ecole de Danse de l'Opéra de Paris, Eric Quilleré est engagé en 1984 dans le corps de ballet de l'Opéra national de Paris. Repéré par Maurice Béjart, ce dernier l'invite à Vienne dans la « Compagnie du 20ème siècle » pour danser le ballet "Wien Wien". Promu Premier danseur en 1991 par Patrick Dupont alors Directeur de la Danse à l'Opéra national de Paris, Eric Quilleré danse le répertoire classique et créé le pas de deux des Vendangeurs dans "Giselle" de P.Bart et E. Polikov.

Eric Quilleré danse aussi le répertoire néo-classique : "Agon", "Apollon", "Capriccio" et "Le Fils prodigue» de G. Balanchine. Il danse également le répertoire contemporain : "Point In Space" et "Un Jour ou deux" avec Merce Cunningham, "Sinfonietta" avec Jirí Kylián. Il danse "Le Sacre du printemps" de Pina Bausch lors de sa création à l'Opéra national de Paris. Eric Quilleré est ensuite engagé comme Danseur Etoile au Ballet de Nancy.

En 1995, Eric Quilleré partage son temps entre l’Opéra national de Paris et le Miami City Ballet où il danse la plupart des ballets de Balanchine. Tout en poursuivant sa carrière de danseur, il commence à remonter des ballets pour le Miami City Ballet : "Le Lac des cygnes", "Coppélia", "Giselle" et "Paquita". En 2001, il est invité par M.C Pietragalla pour monter sa version de Giselle au Ballet National de Marseille. En 2002, il est nommé Conseiller artistique pour la MBC School de Miami où il enseigne et organise des stages d'été avec les plus grands directeurs d'écoles de danse. En 2003, Charles Jude lui demande de rejoindre le Ballet National de Bordeaux comme Maître de Ballet. Il collabore sur les créations de Charles Jude. Eric Quilleré donne régulièrement des cours et est, entre autres, invité à Tel Aviv en Israël (Israël Ballet) et à Florence en Italie (Ballet de Florence).

Sur proposition de Marc Minkowski, il est nommé Directeur de la danse de l'Opéra National de Bordeaux le 15 décembre 2017.