With 66 applications examined *, the third edition of the Young Ballet Choreographers Competition is experiencing significant development (32 candidates in 2016 and 40 in 2018) confirming its relevance as well as the existence of a promising pool of young choreographers claiming an attachment to Ballet in Europe and in the world.

Like the first editions, the selection of the six finalists was difficult for Bruno Bouché, Thierry Malandain and Eric Quilleré, given the quality of the applications. The profiles of the 14 women and 52 men who applied, showed a significant diversity:
– 27 nationalities represented, most of them European, including 14 French,
– Age moyen : 29 ans,

Most from international ballets : Royal Ballet, Ballet Theater Basel, Polish National Ballet, Staatstheater Nürnberg Ballet, Queensland Ballet, Hambourg Ballet, Saarländisches Staatstheater, Ballet de l’Opéra national de Lyon, CCN-Ballet de l’Opéra National du Rhin, Batsheva Dance Company, Norwegian National Ballet, Tanz Luzerner Theater, Dresden Frankfurt Dance Company, Royal New Zealand Ballet, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, Scottish Ballet, Compañia nacional de Danza, Ballet national de Marseille, Jerusalem Ballet, Anhaltisches Theater Dessau, Ballet de Catalunya, Dutch National Ballet, Royal Danish Ballet, Bejart Ballet Lausanne, Hessisches Staatsballett, Dresden Semperoper Ballett, Zurich Ballett, Mariinsky Theatre…

Thus for the public final of May 31, 2020 at the Gare du Midi in Biarritz (France), headquarters of the CCN Malandain Ballet Biarritz, were selected:

Kaloyan Boyadjiev, Bulgarian, 42 years old, Norwegian National Opera and Ballet
Andrew McNicol, British, The McNicol Ballet Collective
Sophie Laplane, French, 35 years old, artiste in residency Scottish Ballet
Lucas Valente, Brazilian, 29 years old, dancer Zurich Ballett
Houston Thomas, American, 24 years old, second soloist Dresden Semperoper Ballett
Jorge García Pérez, Spanish, 32 years old, soloist Ballett Theater Basel


Results of the 2nd classical & neoclassical Emergent choregraphers contest launched by the Malandain Ballet Biarritz and the Ballet de l’Opéra National de Bordeaux with the cooperation of the CCN/Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin. The final happened the May 27th at Bordeaux’s Grand Theatre.

First Prizes :

No One, Ludmila Komkova (Hessian State Ballet)
Creation for the Ballet de l’Opéra National de Bordeaux

Somiglianza, Mattia Russo and Antonio de Rosa (Compañía Nacional de Danza de España)
Creation for the CCN/Ballet de l’Opéra national du Rhin

Biarritz / Groupe Caisse des Dépôts’ Prize

Persona, Robert Bondara (Polish National Ballet)

Professionals’ Prize

No One, Ludmila Komkova (Hessian State Ballet)

Audience’s Prize

Les labilités amoureuses, Julien Guérin (Ballets de Monte Carlo)

Thanks to the other finalists : Craig Davidson (Tanz Luzerner Theater) and Marioenrico d’Angelo (Saarländisches Staatstheater).

Thanks to the audience and all the dance professionals that came from all across Europe.

Thanks to the event’s partners for their support : Ministère de la Culture, le Groupe Caisse des Dépôts et la Fondation de la Danse.

Thanks to the jury : Bruno Bouché (CCN/Ballet de Opéra national du Rhin), Ingrid Lorentzen (Den Norsk Opera & Ballet), Thierry Malandain (Malandain Ballet Biarritz), Eric Quilleré (Opéra National de Bordeaux) et Elke Schepers (Nederlands Dans Theater).


Results of the 1st classical & neoclassical Emergent choregraphers contest launched by the Malandain Ballet Biarritz and the Ballet de l’Opéra National de Bordeaux. The final happened yesterday at Biarritz’s Gare du Midi before a wonderful reception at the Hôtel du Palais.

First Prize : « To be continued »

Xenia Wiest, (Staastballett Berlin)
Creation for the Ballet de l’Opéra National de Bordeaux

Second Prize : « Prince »
Professionals’ Prizes
Audience’s Prize

Martin Harriague, (Kibbutz Contemporary Dance Company)
Creation for the Malandain Ballet Biarritz

Fondation de la Danse’s Prize : « Love, Fear, Loss »

Ricardo Amarante, (Ballet royal de Flandre)

Thanks to the other finalists: Olaf Kollmannsperger (Staastballett Berlin) ; Yvon Demol (Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris) ; Vitali Safronkine (Béjart Ballet Lausanne) and their dancers & crew.

Thanks to the audience and all the dance professionals that came from all across Europe.

Thanks to the event’s partners for their support:  Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, Repetto, Hôtel du Palais, Champagne Delamotte, Fondation de la Danse and Origine Ateliers, for the trophees creation.

Thanks to the jury: Hélène Traïline, Kader Belarbi, Ivan Cavallari, Charles Jude and Thierry Malandain.

Thanks to the master of ceremony, Richard Flahaut and to Thomas Valverde, pianist and artistic director of the Festival International Piano Classique de Biarritz.